Top Menu

Changing Your Facebook Status Privacy

Facebook automatically “remembers” the last privacy setting used when you post a status update. This can cause a panic attack on an otherwise normal day. We have all been there. You post a Facebook status update only to realize that the privacy setting was incorrect. We are all familiar with the sinking feeling that comes along with the mistake. If the status we intended to be PUBLIC and it was set to FRIENDS you may be sad because it was funny darn-it! The status that we want to immediately delete are always the ones that get a comment or a “like” immediately.

So what do you do?!

 

I posted my status update with the wrong privacy setting

Follow these simple steps!

 

changing your Facebook privacy setting

1. Click on the arrow all the way to the right of your screen.

2. Click on Activity Log

This is a log of everything you do on Facebook.

Help! I posted something to Facebook by mistake

3. Click on the privacy setting icon.

4. Click on the new setting you would like to use.

That’s it! Now you can share your funniest statement with the world instead of just your friends and keep that silly admission of mis-parenting to just for your friends eyes. πŸ™‚

This does NOT apply to PAGES on Facebook. See below for PAGE options.

Facebook Activity Log Options for Pages

The important lesson here is that nothing on the internet is truly private. If you have a panic moment when posting something, think about your online behavior. This is called your online reputation. Ideally, you should be able to stand proud of everything that you post. Right?! Take some time to go through your activity log and determine if you like what you see. While you are there, go ahead and change anything you don’t like!

 

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge